Substitute For Distilled Water

Discussion in 'Sleep Apnea & CPAP Users Forum' started by mikka254, Oct 22, 2017.

1. mikka254

mikka254 New Member

We are always told to use distilled water in the humidifier. Would it be a problem if I use tap water? I mean are there any health risks in using tap water???

BTW..... I have an ICON™+ Auto with HC150 Humidifier from F&P.

2. SleepingBeauty

SleepingBeauty New Member

Hello @mikka254

By your question, it seems that you have started using CPAP only recently. Using tap water or other water would lead to the development of crud in the tank and would require more cleaning. Distilled water ensures that crud is not formed in the water reservoir. Moreover, it is cheap, and nothing grows in the water. Once in a while, you can use bottled or tap water, but make sure the water reservoir is cleaned thoroughly.

3. mikka254

mikka254 New Member

Well, I have been using the machine for more than seven months now, but I asked this question as my distilled water gallon ran out and the store near my house was also out of distilled water.

4. zack

zack New Member

You can alternatively boil tap water, cool it down and use it in the water chamber. I buy my gallon of distilled water from Walmart (I get a 6-gallon case for around 100 bucks). I live in the countryside so do not regularly drive to the city......

5. ramon80

ramon80 New Member

For all users of city tap water, a majority of the US municipalities use chlorine and fluoride (dangerous chemicals). So do not use tap water in water chamber since you might breathe in these toxic fumes.

6. magnificent

magnificent New Member

By that logic, one should not use well water also, since it can grow bacteria also.

7. stephan59

stephan59 New Member

I live in the countryside, and my house has its well which gives sweet-tasting water. But I still use distilled water in the humidifier. And I clean it once weekly using a vinegar solution. So I suggest you go for DISTILLED WATER only.